Curriculum » Curriculum


The vision statement for Catholic schools of the Diocese of Dallas asserts that “Catholic schools educate diverse student bodies to form Catholic, person-centered learning communities; provide academic excellence through educational programs infused with Catholic Doctrine and social teachings; serve and support society in the parish, civic, and global communities; graduate students who are critical thinkers, productive moral citizens, and spiritual leaders; and recognize and appreciate parents as the primary educators of their children.”
With this vision in mind, St. Monica Catholic School uses a Standards-Based Curriculum which encourages students to achieve academically and to grow spiritually. St. Monica School teachers infuse daily learning opportunities with activities designed to develop higher order thinking skills, intended to challenge students to perform to the best of their abilities, and focused on a growing understanding of their individual responsibilities within a Catholic community.
St. Monica's Standards-Based Curriculum is designed by the Office of Catholic Schools of the Diocese of Dallas and is set forth in the Diocesan Curriculum Guide. Basic to the curriculum is the study of the following:
•Language Arts (reading, English, spelling, writing and library)
•Social Studies
•Computer Literacy
•Music (grades K-6)
•Art (grades K-6)
•Electives (grades 7-8)
•Physical Education
The St. Monica School curriculum meets both national and state educational requirements. St. Monica School is fully accredited by the Texas Catholic Conference Education Department (TCCED) which is approved by the Texas Education Agency (TEA).

What makes St. Monica stand out among other Catholic Schools?
  • Middle School Honors Classes - Language Arts & Math
  • Middle School - exploratory elective program
  • 3rd, 4th and 5th Grade Enrichment 
  • The June Cooper Learning Center